The State of Emergency for Louisiana, has been issued in connection with the Colonial Pipeline Disruption till May 26, 2021. According to DOTD, HOS is waived during this Emergency Declaration. 

Click here to view the proclamation.

Louisiana Winter Storm Victims Receive Tax Relief. 
The IRS announced that victims of winter storms that occurred February 11-19, 2021 now have until June 15, 2021 to file various individual and business tax returns and make tax payments.

The Internal Revenue Service, in response to disruptions of the fuel supply chain, will not impose a penalty when dyed diesel fuel is sold for use or used on the highway in the States of Alabama, Delaware, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and the District of Columbia.
This relief is retroactive to May 7, 2021, and will remain in effect through May 21, 2021.

State filing and payment deadlines extended for taxpayers affected by February winter storm.
BATON ROUGE – The Louisiana Department of Revenue has granted automatic filing and payment extensions to individual and business taxpayers affected by severe winter weather in February. The extension applies to income, excise, franchise, sales, severance and withholding taxes.

Louisiana Department of Revenue will also waive the diesel fuel penalty for dyed diesel fuel when sold for use or used on the highway. This relief period will coincide with that of the Internal Revenue Service, which, for Louisiana, commenced May 7, 2021, and will remain in effect through May 21, 2021.


WASHINGTON – The U.S. Department of Transportation (USDOT) announced today as part of the federal government’s efforts to actively assess the implications of the Colonial Pipeline incident and to avoid disruption to supply, that the USDOT’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration is taking steps to create more flexibility for motor carriers and drivers. FMCSA is issuing a temporary hours of service exemption that applies to those transporting gasoline, diesel, jet fuel and other refined petroleum products to Alabama, Arkansas, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia. 
USDOT’s top priority is safety, and while current circumstances dictate providing industry flexibility, FMCSA will work closely with its state and industry partners to monitor driver work hours and conditions for the duration of the exemption.

The full text of FMSCA’s action can be found here


A weight waiver has been issued for the State of Louisiana until May 26, 2021. 

Click here to view this waiver.


RELEASE DATE: May 13, 2021
LDAF has filed an emergency rule with the State Register giving public notice that in accordance with the emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority set forth in R.S. 3:4608 and 4680, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry is adopting an emergency regulation suspending certain standard fuel specifications for gasoline and gasoline-oxygenate blends. This emergency rule is necessary in order to ensure that state regulations regarding fuel specifications are in accord with the temporary waivers granted by the EPA. The rule affected by this emergency declaration is LAC 7:XXV.303. For more information, please contact our office. A copy of the declaration of emergency and the emergency rule can be found here.

(Adobe PDF File)